What are the Real Estate Agent Licensing Requirements in Every State?

become real estate agentEvery state in the U.S. has different requirements for getting a real estate license. This article gives a brief description of what is required in each state. Every state requires some form of education and a test that must be passed before you can get your real estate license. You must also work under a broker when you get your license. State requirements for education vary from 40 credit hours of classes to over 200 hours of classes. Almost all of the education can be taken online now, but that is not always the best way to get your real estate license.

Are there different types of agents and brokers in each state?

Real estate agents can make a lot of money, but each state has a different system for licensing real estate agents and real estate brokers. In most states, there are real estate salespeople and real estate brokers. A real estate salesperson must work under a real estate broker in order to be an active licensee. To become a broker, most states require a certain amount of time as a salesperson as well as more education and testing. Some states have different names for brokers and salespeople such as Colorado, which calls beginning agents broker associates and has employing brokers or independent brokers.

How hard is it to get a real estate license?

I am located in Colorado, which has one of the more stringent real estate licensing requirements. Agents in Colorado must take over 160 hours of education, be fingerprinted, and pass two tests and a background check. Most states require less than 100 hours of education. Many states let you substitute real estate courses at a college for real estate pre-licensing education. Many states also let you skip the pre-licensing education if you have completed law school or passed the bar exam. States require some type of continuing education after you have your real estate license.

What are the real estate license requirements in each state?

Below you will find every state listed with the requirements for getting an entry-level real estate license. Many states require background checks, fingerprints, and a high school diploma. Whether or not you will pass a background check or certain requirements of moral character is very subjective in each state. Many states say that you cannot have a felony: look into the requirements for your own state for more specifics on this. If you are already licensed in one state, most states also greatly reduce the education requirements to get a license in their state. If it seems like a hassle to get a real estate license, remember real estate agents can make a lot of money!

One other item to keep in mind is that there are also monetary costs associated with getting your real estate license. This varies from state to state, but includes items such as application fees,  pre-licensing course fees, and fees for fingerprinting (in those states where this is a requirement).

This information was up to date as of 2021, but states’ requirements are regularly changing. There is also a very small chance I could have made an error gathering this data. Make sure you check with your state for the latest, up to date requirements.

Real Estate Express is a great affordable online school to get your real estate license.

STATE BY STATE REAL ESTATE LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

Alabama:

You must be a U.S. citizen or lawful permanent resident, be at least 19 years old, show proof of high school graduation or GED, have no felonies, have not had a real estate application or license rejected or revoked in any state within the past two years, successfully completed 60 credits of approved pre-license Alabama real estate courses, and pass the state’s real estate license exam.

After passing with at least a 70%, you must submit an application for an Alabama Temporary License. Licensees must then complete a 30-hour real estate agent training in Alabama within the first twelve months of getting their license. After which the licensee can then apply for an Alabama Permanent Salesperson’s License. Then you must complete 15 hours of continuing education every 2 years.

Alaska:

Alaska has three different types of real estate licenses: a salesperson, broker, and broker associate. The salesperson must work under a broker and is required to have 40 pre-license credit hours of classes and pass the real estate exam. You must be 19 years of age to obtain a real estate license in Alaska. People convicted with a felony, fraud, forgery, theft, or extortion must have served their full sentence and have waited at least seven years since completing their sentence before their application being considered. After licensing, you must then complete 20 hours of continuing education every two years, and 30 hours of post license education to be complete within 1 year of initial licensing.

Arizona:

You must be 18 years of age and complete 90 hours of pre-license education and a 6 hour contract writing course. You must pass the state and real estate school exams and be of high moral character. You must disclose all criminal convictions and will not be considered if convicted of any felonies. You must submit an issued fingerprint clearance card. Lastly, must also be approved by your hiring Broker online prior to being legal to work. After licensing, you must then complete 24 hours of continuing education every two years.

Arkansas:

You must be 18 years old and take 60 hours of pre-license education. You also have to submit fingerprints for a background check, which is assessed on a case-by-case basis. Licensees must then complete 18 hours of post-licensing education no later than 6 months after becoming initially licensed. After this, 7 hours of continuing education must be completed each year.

real estate agents fail

California:

In California, real estate license applicants must be at least 18 and are required to take three real estate classes for a total of 135 hours, which can be taken at a college or private real estate school. These three courses include Real Estate Principles (45 hours), Real Estate Practices (45 hours), and a choice of one more course from an approved list for the last 45 hours. Applicants must also show proof of honesty and truthfulness and must submit fingerprints for a background check. Conviction of any crime can result in disqualification, but not without consideration. Licensees must then complete 45 hours of continuing education before renewing their license every four years.

Colorado:

You must take 162 credit hours of classes and be at least 18 years of age before you can take the state exams. You must also pass a background test and be fingerprinted. You must then complete 24 hours of continuing education every three years after the initial licensing.

Connecticut:

You must be at least 18 and take 60 hours of real estate classes before you can take the exam for a salesperson. Brokers must take 120 hours of education and have two years of experience as a salesperson. Licenses then expire every May 31st, and 12 hours of continuing education must be completed each year before renewal.

Delaware:

Licensees in Delaware must be at least 18 and must complete 99 hours of real estate classes before they can take the state exam. Convictions can be waived but 5 years must have elapsed since conviction. Licenses expire April 30th on even years, and you must complete between 0-21 hours of post license education for the first renewal period depending on when you received your license. After the first renewal period, 21 hours of continuing education are required by each renewal period of two years.

District of Columbia:

You must take 60 hours of pre-license education before passing the Salesperson Exam and applying for your real estate license. You must be a high school graduate or hold the equivalent certificate. After licensing, you must then complete 15 hours of continuing education every two years.

Florida:

You must take 63 credit hours of pre-license courses and be at least 18 years of age as well as have a high school diploma or equivalent. You must also submit fingerprints for a background check and disclose any convictions for consideration before taking and passing the exam. After licensing, you must then complete 45 hours of post license education within the first two years, and 14 hours of continuing education every subsequent renewal period of two years.

Georgia:

To get a salesperson license in Georgia, you must take 75 hours of approved pre-license real estate courses or complete 10 quarter-hours or 6 semester hours of approved education courses at an accredited college or university. You must also be 18 years of age, have a high school diploma or GED, and pass a background check. You must have a sponsoring broker to activate your license. Afterwards, you must complete 25 hours of post license education within the first year, and then 36 hours of continuing education every four years after.

Hawaii:

You must be 18 years old with a high school diploma or the equivalent and pass a 60-hour pre-licensing course. You must then complete 20 hours of continuing education every two years

Idaho:

You must be 18 years of age with a high school diploma or the equivalent and take 90 hours of pre-license education before you can take the state exam. You must also submit fingerprints and pass a background check. Afterwards, 19 hours of continuing education is required every two years.

Illinois:

You must be 18 years old and have either a high school diploma or GED. To become a real estate agent, you must complete 75 hours of the pre-license broker course, pass a background check, and then pass the exam. After licensing, 45 hours of post-licensing education is required along with 24 hours of continuing education every two years.

how to get buyer leads

Indiana:

You must be 18 with a high school diploma or equivalent, pass a background check, and take 90 credit hours of pre-license classes and pass the state exam. Afterwards, you must complete 30 hours of post licensing education within the first two years, and 36 hours of continuing education every subsequent three years.

Iowa:

You must be 18 years old and pass a background check. You must take 60 credit hours of pre-license classes before taking the state exam, as well as pass a background check. On top of the pre-license hours, you must also complete 36 hours of classroom courses. After licensing, 36 hours of continuing education is required every three years. This is not to be confused with the 36 hours of classroom required before applying for a license.

Kansas:

You must be 18 years old, have a high school diploma or its equivalent, and be able to pass a background check. You need 60 hours of pre-license classes before taking the exam. After licensing, you must then complete 12 hours of continuing education every two years.

Kentucky:

You must be 18 years old, have a high school diploma or equivalent, and pass a background check. The education requirement is 96 credit hours before you can take the state exam, or 6 credit hours in real estate courses from an accredited college. Afterwards, 48 hours of post-license education are required within two years and 6 hours of continuing education every two years after that.

Louisiana:

You must be 18 years old, have a high school diploma or equivalent, and pass a background check. You must take 90 hours of pre-license education before you can take the state exams. After passing the exam, 45 hours of post-licensing education is required within 180 days of obtaining your license, as well as four additional hours of mandated core topic to be complete by Dec 31st of that year. Afterwards, 12 hours of continuing education is required each year by the same Dec 31st deadline.

Maine:

You must be 18 years old, have a high school diploma or GED, and have notarized recommendations from at least three persons stating that the applicant has a good reputation. You must take 55 hours of pre-licensing requirements before taking the real estate license exam. This is for an entry level sales agent license which is not renewable, which means before the end of the expiration date, you will have had to complete the pre-license associate broker course and pass a different exam to become a broker associate. These licenses are renewable and require 21 hours of continuing education every two years.

Maryland:

You must be 18 years old and of good character and reputation. You must take 60 hours of pre-licensing education before you can take the real estate license exam.

Massachusetts:

You must be 18 years old and take 40 credit hours of classes before you can take the state exam. Afterwards, you must complete 12 hours of continuing education every two years.

Michigan:

You must be 18 years old and take 40 hours of pre-license education before you can take the state exam. Afterwards you must complete 18 hours of continuing education every three years.

Minnesota:

You must take three real estate classes to get your license for a total of 90 hours. Only the first class must be passed before you can take the state test and the other two classes must be passed within one year. You must then obtain sponsorship from a brokerage before you can file for a real estate license. Afterwards, you must complete 15 hours of continuing real estate education every year.

Mississippi:

You must be 18 years old and a bona fide resident of Mississippi. You must take 60 hours of pre-license education before taking the state exam. You must obtain sponsorship from a brokerage before applying for your license. Afterwards, you must complete 30 hours of post-license education within the next year, and then 16 hours of continuing education every two years after.

Missouri:

You can get your license in a variety of ways. You must be 18 and complete 48 hours of classes or be a licensed attorney or be granted a one-time sitting for the exam by the commission. You must then pass a background check and then take the 24 hour Missouri Real Estate Practice (MREP) course which is separate than the 48 hours of pre-licensing courses. Afterwards you must complete 12 hours of continuing education every two years.

Montana:

You must be 18 years old and have passed the 10th grade. You also have to take 70 hours of pre-license education before taking the real estate test. You must also obtain a sponsoring brokerage before filing for your license. Afterwards, you must complete 12 hours of continuing education every year.

Nebraska:

You must be 19 years old and have a high school diploma or GED. You must take three courses totaling 66 hours of pre-licensing education. You must also pass a background check. Afterwards, you are required to complete 18 hours of continuing education every two years.

Nevada:

You must take 90 hours of pre-license education (requirement will increase to 120 hours as of Oct. 2021), be 18 years of age, and pass a background check before taking the state real estate exam. Afterwards, you must complete 24 hours of continuing education every two years.

New Hampshire:

You must be 18, have a high school diploma or the equivalent, pass a background check, and complete 40 hours of pre-license education before taking the real estate exam. You must then complete 15 hours of continuing education every two years afterwards.

New Jersey:

You must be 18 years old, have a high school diploma or GED, and pass a background check and possess good character, trustworthiness, honestly, and integrity. You must pass 75 hours of pre-license classes before taking the real estate exam. You must then obtain sponsorship from a broker before filing for your license. After that, you must complete 12 hours of continuing education every two years.

New Mexico:

In order to get your associate broker license, you must be 18 years old and a legal resident of the United States. You must also submit fingerprints and pass a background check. You must then pass 90 hours of pre-license classes before taking the state real estate exam. Afterwards, you must complete 36 hours of continuing education every three years.

New York:

You must be 18 years old and pass a background check with no felonies on record. Then you must take 75 hours of pre-license education before passing the state real estate exam. You must complete 22.5 hours of post-license education within the first two years of being licensed, then 22.5 hours of continuing education every two years after that.

North Carolina:

To get a provisional license, you must be at least 18 years of age, pass a background check, and then take 75 hours of pre-license classes, followed by the state real estate exam. A full license requires 90 additional hours of post-licensing education.

North Dakota:

You must be 18 years old, submit fingerprints and pass a background check, and submit a fee for a credit report. 90 hours of pre-license education are required. Once licensed, 9 hours of continuing education are required every year.

Ohio:

You must be 18 years old, have a high school diploma, and be an honest and upright citizen. You must pass a background check, and if you have a felony conviction, you may be denied a real estate license. The applicant must pass a state real estate test and complete 120 hours of education. You must then complete 30 hours of continuing education every three years.

Oklahoma:

You must be 18 years old and of good moral character. You must take 90 hours of pre-license education before taking your real estate exams. Afterwards, you must complete 45 hours of post-license education within the first year, and then 21 hours of continuing education every three years following.

Oregon:

You must be 18 years old and have a high school diploma or GED and submit fingerprints to pass a background check. You must take 150 hours of pre-license education before taking the Oregon real estate exams. 30 hours of post-license education is required within the first renewal period, then 30 hours of continuing education every two years after.

Pennsylvania:

You must be at least 18 years of age and pass a background check. You must then take 75 credit hours of pre-license education or have a major in real estate from a four-year college. After obtaining your license, you must complete 14 hours of post-licensing education by the next May 31st of the next even year, and then 14 hours of continuing education every two years after that.

Rhode Island:

You must be 18 years old, pass a background check, and complete 45 hours of pre-license credits before you can take the state real estate test. You must also obtain a lead poisoning mitigation certificate of completion which is a separate three-hour certificate. After licensing, you must then complete 24 hours of continuing education every two years.

South Carolina:

You must be 18 years old and have a high school diploma or equivalent. You must complete 60 hours of pre-license education before taking the state real estate exam. After passing the exam, you must take an additional 30 hours of post-license education before you can apply for your license. Afterwards, licensees must complete 10 hours of continuing education by June 30th every two years, beginning with the year that the license was issued.

South Dakota:

You must be 18 years old and complete 116 hours of pre-license education before you can take the state real estate exams. A licensee must complete a 30-hour course each of the first two license renewal periods, and then 24 hours of continuing education every two years after that.

Tennessee:

You must be 18 years old and complete 90 hours of pre-license education before taking the real estate exam. 16 hours of continuing education is required every two years after initial licensing.

Texas:

You must be 18 years of age or older, submit fingerprints and pass a background check, and then complete 180 hours of pre-license education before you can take the real estate exam. You must complete 90 hours of post-licensing education before your first renewal. You must also complete two separate, four hour legal update courses  in the first renewal period. After the first renewal period,  18 hours of continuing education are required every two years.

Utah:

You must be 18 years old, have a high school diploma or the equivalent, and submit fingerprints and complete a background check. You must complete 120 hours of pre-license education before taking the Utah real estate exam. For the first renewal, licensees must complete 18 hours of post-licensing education, which includes 12 hours of Utah’s new agent course. After the first renewal period, there are 18 hours of  continuing education required every two years.

Vermont:

You must be 18 and complete 40 hours of pre-license education before passing the state real estate tests. Afterwards, you must complete 16 hours of continuing education every two years.

Virginia:

You must be 18 years old, have a high school diploma or the equivalent, submit fingerprints and pass a background check, and complete 60 hours of pre-license education prior to taking the state license exams. After licensing, you must complete 30 hours of post-licensing education within the first two years of licensing, and then 16 hours of continuing education every two years after that.

Washington:

To get your broker license, you must be 18 years old, have a high school diploma or equivalent, submit fingerprints and pass a background check, and complete 90 hours of education before taking the Washington real estate test. Afterwards, you must complete 90 hours of post-licensing education within the first two years, and then 30 hours of continuing education every two years after that.

West Virginia:

You must be 18 years old, have a high school diploma or equivalent, and submit fingerprints to pass a background check. Applicants must take 90 hours of pre-license education before taking the state exams. After licensing, you must complete 7 hours of continuing education every year.

Wisconsin:

You must be 18 years old and have completed 72 hours of pre-license education before taking the state test. You can also be a real estate apprentice, which requires you to take a general knowledge test and be working directly for a real estate broker for at least 20 hours per week. After licensing, you must complete 18 hours of continuing education every two years

Wyoming:

You must submit fingerprints and pass a background check and then take 54 credit hours of pre-license education before passing the state exams. You must then take 45 hours of continuing education every three years after initial licensing.

Conclusion

Colorado and Texas lead the way with the most difficult licensing requirements in the United States. I think becoming a real estate agent was the best move I ever made in my career. I think if you can take real estate classes in person it is a huge advantage, but there are many options to take classes online. Real Estate Express has one of the best online programs, but if you can take classes in person that is the best route.

71 thoughts on “What are the Real Estate Agent Licensing Requirements in Every State?”

  1. Hi Mark, It’s been a couple of months since this article was published but I’m just now reading it. I realize this may seem petty of me to want to point this out, but being a REALTOR in Ohio, I want to make it clear that getting licensed in Ohio is not as simple as your article suggests. In fact, assuming the info you present about the other states is correct, Ohio is one of the most stringent in terms of the pre-licensing requirements. Per the Ohio Division of Real Estate:
    Requirements for an Ohio Real Estate Salesperson’s License

    1. Be honest, truthful and of good reputation.
    2. Be at least 18 years old.
    3. Be sponsored by an Ohio Broker.
    4. Not have been convicted of a felony or a crime of moral turpitude. Not have violated any civil rights laws regarding real estate within the past two years as determined by a court of law or violated any rules of the Ohio Division of Real Estate. In some circumstances, it is possible to have a conviction or violation disregarded, which would allow you to sit for the exam. The
    Division may only make a determination with respect to a conviction or violation if you file an application.
    5. Have a high school diploma or its equivalent as recognized by the Ohio Department of Education if you were born after 1950.
    6. Complete the following education requirements:
    * Real Estate Principles and Practices (40 hours)
    * Ohio Real Estate Law, including instruction in civil rights, housing discrimination and desegregation problems (40 hours)
    * Real Estate Appraisal (20 hours)
    * Real Estate Finance (20 hours)
    Thank you for letting me correct this.

    Reply
  2. Hi, Mark. I’ve been researching many online schools (local and national) and have been really concerned about which school to choose. You mentioned Real Estate Express above and that’s the school I am highly considering. Just wanted to verify your thoughs on this school. Some of these schools seem cheesy. Thank you for your time.

    Reply
    • I have never taken classes from them, but it has also been 15 years since I took classes. Two people on my team liked them and their support.

      Reply
  3. Mark,

    I am in Ohio and have been interviewing for a job with a real estate company doing business development. I need to get licensed due to the laws in Ohio to work there. Now is it possible to get licensed in Ohio if you have a violent felony conviction from 16 years ago?.

    Reply
    • That all depends on how strict Ohio is with their real estate laws. You may be able to call the real estate commission there and ask them ahead of time.

      Reply
  4. Thanks Mark for your emails, support, & guidance. I really appreciate your informative essays, as well as your articles on maintaining a positive mental attitude.

    Reply
  5. Hi mark I was wondering if in pa you are able to obtain a license if you have a prior marijuana conviction from 8+years prior

    Reply
  6. Hi Mark
    I have an Illinois Brokers lic, and an Illinois Appraisers lic, but will be moving to Michigan in 2016. Will Michigan make me start all over to obtain a Michigan lic?
    Thanks
    Cyndy

    Reply
  7. It’s 90 hours in Indiana. And you do have to have a HS diploma or GED. And you have to do 30 post education within 2 years of getting your license. And then 36 hours every 3 years after that. I did pass the state exam the first time but I studies a lot. It’s about 4 hours long.

    Reply
  8. Hi…I am currently licensed as a sales associate in California…..I am thinking of moving to Texas….
    what are my requirements to get a license in Texas?? Thank you…
    Mindy Sierra

    Reply
  9. We are moving to Florida. I have had a MA license for 13 years. I do not have a GED or diploma and will be selling timeshare. It sounds like because of this I can not get one?

    Reply
  10. Real Estate Salesperson License Requirement: 135 hours salesperson + 225 hours additional for broker license = 360 hours minimum. I think it trumps Colorado in my opinion. And I know Colorado Realtors. They call themselves brokers, but actually broker associate is just another name for salesperson as they are still required to work under an employing broker for a period of time. Easier, because there are no more requirements after becoming a broker associate (salesperson). They automatically become full employing brokers over time. Not a bad deal!
    Requirements to Obtain a Salesperson License:
    Be at least 18 years of age
    Provide proof of completion in 135 hours of required education (45 credit hours in Real Estate Principles; 45 credit hours in Real Estate Practice course; and 45 credit hours in one additional state approved course).
    Pass the salespersons exam.
    After passing the examination, you will be sent a Salesperson License Application. Within one year of the examination date this form must be completed and returned along with the licensing fee. Also submit your Live Scan Request form (for submitting fingerprints).
    We recommend completing a combo licensing/exam application, get fingerprinted, and submit all fees right away. This will speed up your application process.
    A salesperson is licensed to act on behalf of a broker, and may not act as a real estate agent independently. A salesperson may only work for one broker in California at a time. California does not require an applicant for a salesperson’s license to have a high school diploma or college degree. There is also no state residency requirement.
    For more information about the exam and state application please visit: https://www.dre.ca.gov

    After which, a sales person can apply for broker license after working two years full time under a broker.
    Real Estate Broker License Requirements in California:
    GENERAL REQUIREMENTS

    Age: You must be 18 years of age or older to be issued a license.
    Residence: If you are not a California resident, see Out-of-State Applicants.
    Honesty: Applicants must be honest and truthful. Conviction of a crime may result in the denial of a license. Failure to disclose any criminal violation or disciplinary action in an applicant’s entire history may also result in the denial of a license. For further information, see Avoid Potential Denial of Your License Application (RE 229) Denotes a PDF document and Application Eligibility Information (RE 222) Denotes a PDF document.
    Experience: A minimum of two years full-time licensed salesperson experience within the last five years or the equivalent is required. For further information, see Documenting Experience Requirements for the Broker Examination.
    COURSE REQUIREMENTS

    Applicants for a real estate broker license examination must have successfully completed the following eight statutorily required college-level courses:

    Real Estate Practice; and
    Legal Aspects of Real Estate; and
    Real Estate Finance; and
    Real Estate Appraisal; and
    Real Estate Economics or Accounting*; and
    Three courses from the following list:

    Real Estate Principles
    Business Law
    Property Management
    Escrow
    Real Estate Office Administration
    Mortgage Loan Brokering and Lending
    Advanced Legal Aspects of Real Estate
    Advanced Real Estate Finance
    Advanced Real Estate Appraisal
    Computer Applications in Real Estate
    Common Interest Developments

    Reply
    • You do not automatically become an employing broker over time in COlorado. You have to take more classes and tests. You can be a broker only for yourself with less classes.

      Reply
  11. Good day, i have been a property sales Consultant for 6 years in South Africa with a great record, am looking at relocating to the USA, I have been in touch with some schools in Texas who offer’s real estate courses and preparation for the license .
    My question 1st is ” Will i be able to write the license exam been a foreigner ? I was told i have to be in the USA but need to know if license if given to Non-citizen of United State of America .

    2nd question, is there any state that is more foreigner friendly in regards to the license?

    I do not want to pay for the course and then find out i cannot write the license exams.

    Please help me .

    Reply
  12. Hi Mark,
    Did you need to be and USA Citizen or leave in USA in order to apply for a real estate license from California?
    Thank you in advance for your help.

    Reply
  13. What are the majors websites to get borrowers and private money lenders.
    I will appreciate if some can help me.
    Thanks

    Reply
  14. hi what if i had all of my real estate licensing in ontario canada and wanted to relocate to florida or california…what would have to happen? ty

    Reply
  15. Hello, can I become a real estate agent with work authorization, I can legally work in US? I need to find out before I take all classes needed. Thanks in advance!

    Reply
  16. “Not have been convicted of a felony or a crime of moral turpitude. Not have violated any civil rights laws regarding real estate within the past two years as determined by a court of law or violated any rules of the Ohio Division of Real Estate. In some circumstances, it is possible to have a conviction or violation disregarded, which would allow you to sit for the exam. The
    Division may only make a determination with respect to a conviction or violation if you file an application.”

    Do states verify all of this or do they just take the word of all the applicants and renewals? If they do verify how does the state go about doing this? They would need the consent of the applicant to do a background check. I point this out because there seems to be a lot of trust in just checking a box. Real Estate agents are entrusted by clients to help them to buy, sell or educate them about the process.

    Reply
  17. Hi mark,
    This is Sudhakar from India, I think you don’t have services in India.

    But it is really a good article.
    Thanks,
    Sudhakar

    Reply
  18. if I’m licensed in Colorado with less then 2 yrs, but moving to Georgia. Do i need to go to school there as well. Or is their Reciprocity?

    Reply
  19. Hi Mark,

    I was in Colorado where I, after completing 172ish hours of education and passing both the state and unified national exams, received my Broker license. All agents in Colorado are required to be Brokers and are held to a higher standard than salespersons in every aspect. The term “Broker Associate” refers to all agents who work with a company, ie: RE/MAX, Coldwell Banker, etc., regardless of how long one has been licensed. A licensee who has worked with a company for 1, 5, 10 or 25 years, is still a Broker Associate. The difference between a Broker and Broker Associate in Colorado is that a licensee who has been licensed for at least two years, may open their own company at which time they would be known as a Broker – Owner/Operator. All Brokers are required to complete 12 hours of continuing education per year, including 2 hours of mandatory update class.

    Since I had not been licensed for at least 2 years in Colorado, upon moving back to Wisconsin, which has reciprocation with Illinois and Indiana, I did not need to complete the entire 68 hours of education, but did need to complete a 13 hour course and take the state exam to become a licensed sales person. After 2 years, I may complete the Broker training and take the Wisconsin Broker exam, if I choose to.

    Thank you for this forum providing helpful info for the Real Estate Entrepreneur.

    Reply
    • That is correct, except you need 8 hours a year in continuing education not 12 in Colorado. 24 total over 3 years. I think the update class is 4 hours as well. I just took mine!

      Reply
  20. What about transferring you License from another country? Say from Australia. Could this be converted or starting from scratch?

    Reply
  21. Actually Washington takes two courses – one 60 hours and another 30 hours. As well as fingerprinting and a background check.

    Reply
    • Usually not, but in some states it could be. I know many agents that have licenses in multiple states

      Reply
  22. Hello Mark,

    Is there a way that I can get a Real Estate license in the state of Arkansas for example if don’t live there?

    Do I need to have a physical address in the state of Arkansas to become a Real Estate agent?

    Thanks in advance!

    Reply
    • I think you can, but I am not sure on the details. I know a few agents who have licenses in multiple states.

      Reply
  23. Really interesting. Just finished required courses for Texas yesterday. A couple updates if you’re so inclined: Real Estate salesperson requirements are 18 yrs old, 180 hrs (6 classes), background check & fingerprinting. Broker: 900 hrs plus 4 yrs out of the prior 5 as an agent.
    I’d love to see which states have everyone becoming a broker, and which states require attorneys in the transaction. Neither of those are the norm in Texas.

    Reply
  24. Mark,
    I live in pa, I am moving to Florida in a year. Can I take the pre real estate coursesfor Florida and the state license test while I’m still living in pa. Thanks

    Reply
  25. I have a couple of questions: 1. What does it mean when they say “Be of good moral character?” Obviously, I know what the phrase MEANS, but just how do they determine that you are or are not of good moral character? 2. Does your credit history play a part in whether or not you are granted a license in the states which require a credit or background check?

    Reply

Add Your Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

shares
[ Inside Real Estate Investing ]
[ Inside Real Estate Investing ]
%d bloggers like this: